Awards and Recognition

MPT Program Guide Awards: 2013

Program Guide awards

Maryland Public Television is the recipient of 6 design awards for its monthly program guide. MPT received a 2013 Silver PROMAX/BDA Local Award (pictured left) for Off-Air Design. PROMAX/BDA is an international television industry association for entertainment marketing professionals. The PromaxBDALocal Awards celebrate excellence, creativity and innovation in local television promotion, marketing and design.

MPT also received 5 Communicator Awards from the International Academy of Visual Arts (IAVA). Three Gold Awards (pictured right) were received for Overall Design, Cover Design and for Non-Profit Magazine. Two Silver Awards were received for Interior Design and Marketing & Promotion. The Communicator Awards is the leading international awards program recognizing marketing and communications creativity.

The MPT program guide is produced by Novak Birch, a Baltimore-based integrated marketing communications firm, under the direction of Alex Vitalo, MPT's Creative Director.


Emmy Awards: 2013

Maryland Public Television is proud to be recognized with the following Emmy Awards and nominations from the National Capital/Chesapeake Bay Chapter of the National Television Academy of Arts and Sciences.

The results were announced at the awards ceremony held on Saturday, June 15.


Emmy Award


Reporter - Political

Maryland Political Packages 2012 Yolanda Vazquez

Nominated Program Host/Moderator

Rhea Feikin



America's Veterans: A Musical Tribute James Bigwood, Gordon Masters, David Wainwright, MSgt. Jim DeVaughn

Nominated Station Excellence

Maryland Public Television


Magazine Program - Feature/Segment

Outdoors Maryland: Urban Oasis Patrick Ridgely, Segment Producer

Nominated Magazine Program - Program/Special

Outdoors Maryland: Episode 2405 Michael English, Producer; Susan Jacobson, Coordinating Producer


Interview/Discussion - Program/Special

Impressions Of Dr. Ben Carson Susanne Stahley, Producer/Editor


Documentary - Historical

Heart Of The Civil War Robert Ferrier, Producer/Director; Shaun Gildea, Editor; Gary Parker, Writer; Seraphina Lin, Associate Producer; Chris Haugh, Producer; Michael English, Executive Producer

Nominated Historical/Cultural - Program Feature/Segment

The Tall Ship Guayas Frank Batavick, Producer

Nominated Politics/Government - Program/Special

State Circle: Referendum Decisions Mark Keefer, Executive Producer; Jeff Salkin, Anchor/Host; Melinda Wise, Associate Producer

Nominated Arts/Entertainment - Program Feature/Segment

Arts/Entertainment - Program Feature/Segment "Alexander Heilner" artist profile segment Susanne Stahley, Producer/Editor


Arts/Entertainment – Program Feature/Segment

"David Knopp" artist profile segment Patrick Ridgely, Segment Producer

Nominated Chesapeake Heritage - Program/Special

Secrets Of The Chesapeake John Paulson, Producer; Susan Jacobson, Coordinating Producer; Michael English, Executive Producer


Chesapeake Heritage – Program/Special

The War Of 1812 On The Chesapeake: Home Of The Brave Drew Perkins, Director; Midge Flinn Yost, Producer; Michael English, Executive Producer


National Capital Chesapeake Bay Community Service Award

To recognize the station's 2012 "Concert for the Chesapeake Bay" volunteer-a-thon.

     About MPT
     Our Mission
     Channel Guide
     Contact Us
     Who's Who
     Press Room
     Awards and Recognition
     Editorial Guidelines
     Production Services/Rentals
     Privacy Policy
     Public Inspection File