Skip to main content

Standing Against Racism: Fostering Unity Through Dialogue

Historically Black Colleges and Universities

HBCU Graduates in Maryland Government

Former Lt. Governor Boyd Rutherford (R); Howard University, BA


Sen. Joanne Benson (D), District 24 (Prince George's County); Bowie State University, BA

Sen. Melony Griffith (D), District 25 (Prince George's County); Howard University, MSW

Sen. Delores Kelly (D), District 10 (Baltimore County); Virginia State College, BA & (former Dean and Professor, Coppin State University)

Sen. Obie Patterson (D), District 26 (Prince George's County); Johnson C. Smith University, BA (Member, Board of Trustees, Johnson C. Smith University)


Del. Curt Anderson (D), District 43 (Baltimore City); Morgan State University, BA

Del. J. Sandy Bartlett (D), District 32 (Anne Arundel County); Howard University, BA

Del. Benjamin Brooks, Sr. (D), District 10 (Baltimore County); South Carolina State University, BA

Del. Nick Charles (D), District 25 (Prince George's County); University of the District of Columbia, BA

Del. Frank Conway, Jr. (D), District 40 (Baltimore City); Sojourner-Douglass College, BA (Attended Howard and Morgan)

Del. Charlotte Crutchfield (D), District 19 (Montgomery County); Howard University, BA

Del. Andrea Fletcher Harrison (D), District 24 (Prince George's County); BowieState University, BA

Del. Keith Haynes (D), District 44A (Baltimore City), North Carolina Central University, MPA

Del. Shaneka Henson (D), District 30A (Anne Arundel County), Coppin State University, BA

Del. Marvin E. Holmes (D), District 23B (Prince George's County), Tuskegee University, BA

Del. Edith Patterson (D), District 28 (Charles County), Virginia Union University, BA; Bowie State University, M.Ed.

Del. Elizabeth G. Proctor (D), District 27A (Charles & Prince George's Counties), Bowie State University, BA

Del. Pamela Queen (D), District 14 (Montgomery County), Tuskegee University, BS (Professor Morgan State University)

Del. Sheree L. Sample Hughes, District 37A (Dorchester & Wicomico Counties), Delaware State University, BA

Del. Stephanie Smith, District 45 (Baltimore City), Hampton University, BA & Howard University, JD

Del. Brenda Thiam (R), District 2B (Washington County); North Carolina Central University, BA 

Del. Jay Walker, District 26 (Prince George's County), Howard University, BA

Del. Ronald Watson, District 23B (Prince George's County), Morgan State University, BA

Del. C.T. Wilson, District 28 (Charles County), Howard University, JD